Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Gomez's catch restored after video review

Brewers win challenge in sixth, but ninth-inning out call on Braun confirmed

Gomez's catch restored after video review play video for Gomez's catch restored after video review

SAN FRANCISCO -- Seeking a small success while they were still looking for a hit against Giants starter Jake Peavy, the Brewers found one via replay.

The umpires at AT&T Park initially ruled Giants slugger Michael Morse safe when Brewers center fielder Carlos Gomez caught a one-out fly ball in the sixth inning and then dropped it. Roenicke challenged that call, and after a brief review, the ruling was overturned, with Major League Baseball's Replay Command Center ruling that Gomez dropped the baseball while he was transferring it from his glove.

The matter is covered in Rule 2.00, which reads in part that, "If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught."

At the start of this season, umpires and replay officials had been instructed to follow a more strict interpretation of the transfer rule, requiring fielders to cleanly remove balls from their gloves before an out was recorded. But the Playing Rules Committee announced in late April a change, saying outs should be called even if the ball slips out of a fielder's throwing hand while removing it from his glove.

"We've had an outcry," Joe Torre, MLB's executive vice president of baseball operations, said on MLB Network at the time. "Clubs and players have been upset because of the calls umpires have made. ... We listened to the clubs. We listened to the players. We're just going to change the interpretation of the same rule."

Roenicke challenged another call in the ninth inning and lost. With Ryan Braun aboard, Milwaukee's Aramis Ramirez hit a grounder to Giants third baseman Pablo Sandoval, who threw wide of second. Umpire Quinn Wolcott ruled Panik held the bag but Roenicke asked for a second look. The call was confirmed after a 19-second review.

Adam McCalvy is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Brew Beat, and follow him on Twitter at @AdamMcCalvy. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español