Now Commenting On:

Replay confirms Alcantara not hit by pitch

Replay confirms Alcantara not hit by pitch

CHICAGO -- Cubs manager Rick Renteria challenged whether Arismendy Alcantara was hit by a pitch in the third inning of Thursday's second game vs. the Giants.

Alcantara led off the third and felt he was hit on the leg by the first pitch from the Giants' Madison Bumgarner.


Home-plate umpire Mike DiMuro had ruled that Alcantara was not hit, and the review confirmed the call. Alcantara then grounded out.

Carrie Muskat is a reporter for She writes a blog, Muskat Ramblings, and you can follow her on Twitter @CarrieMuskat. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.