CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Review doesn't help Giants on call at second

Crawford ruled out despite Conrad's bobble; play stands after challenge

Review doesn't help Giants on call at second play video for Review doesn't help Giants on call at second

SAN DIEGO -- The Giants unsuccessfully challenged a seventh-inning forceout at second base during Sunday's game against the San Diego Padres.

With Brandon Crawford on first base and one out in the seventh inning, Joaquin Arias hit a roller to shortsop Alexi Amarista, who fed the ball to second baseman Brooks Conrad. Second-base umpire Bob Davidson called Crawford out, though it appeared Conrad did not catch the ball cleanly, with it bouncing away as he attempted to transfer it to his throwing hand.

After a review, it was determined that the ruling on the field should stand.

Chris Haft is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Haft-Baked Ideas, and follow him on Twitter at @sfgiantsbeat. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }