Padres manager Bud Black was none too happy about that; he stormed out of the visitor's dugout to argue the ruling that only one run would count and was promptly ejected from the game.
"I just thought that Smitty [Seth Smith] should have scored on that play. That ball was hit 450 feet. I just had issues with placement of the runners," Black said after the game. "I thought there was no doubt Seth would have scored on that ball, two outs, going on contact, rounding second. It caroms off the wall in who knows what direction. I thought the logical thing was to have Smitty score. I was in disbelief when they placed him at third base.
"This comes from New York, from the command center. They thought he wouldn't have scored. I guess that's the explanation. That's what I had a really tough time with."
A Tommy Medica double in the game's next at-bat gave the Padres the 3-0 lead Black thought they had had one batter prior.
Ryan Hood is an associate reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @ryanhood19. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.