Now Commenting On:

Giants join undesirable champions club

Giants join undesirable champions club

Giants join undesirable champions club play video for Giants join undesirable champions club

CINCINNATI -- The torrent of trivia in the wake of Homer Bailey's no-hitter Tuesday against the Giants included some intriguing facts.

The Giants became the ninth reigning World Series champion in Major League history to lose a no-hitter. The other victors were the New York Yankees' George Mogridge in 1917 over Boston; St. Louis' Lon Warneke in 1941 over Cincinnati; Detroit's Virgil Trucks in 1952 against the Yankees; the Giants' Gaylord Perry in 1968 over St. Louis; Texas' Jim Bibby in 1973 over the A's; Cleveland's Dick Bosman in 1974 against the A's; Texas' Nolan Ryan in 1990 over the A's; and the New York Mets' Johan Santana last year against St. Louis.


If you're looking for omens, the Giants proceeded to win the National League West in both of the previous years when they were no-hit: 1997 and 2003.

Giants manager Bruce Bochy, for one, didn't dwell on Bailey's triumph.

"It was a tremendous pitching job," Bochy said, giving the Cincinnati right-hander his just due. "It was impressive. The last three innings it was, 'Here it is.'"

Chris Haft is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.