Giants to unveil 'Wall of Fame'

Giants to unveil 'Wall of Fame'

SAN FRANCISCO -- The Giants' 50th anniversary celebration will end with the birth of a custom that will last forever.

On Tuesday, the club will dedicate a "Wall of Fame" on King Street -- between Second and Third streets -- outside AT&T Park. It will recognize each San Francisco Giants player who meets the following standards:

-- He's retired.
-- He played at least nine seasons in San Francisco.
-- Or, he played five years as a Giant and made at least one National League All-Star team.

Managing general partner Peter Magowan regards the Wall's unveiling, which is open to the public and will begin at 4 p.m. PT, as a fitting conclusion to the season-long observation of the golden anniversary of the franchise's move from New York.

"I wanted to get it done at the end of this year," said Magowan, who will retire after the season ends. "It seemed to me like it was the appropriate time to do it. It was either going to be the first stage or the last stage, and we weren't ready to do it at the first stage. There were so many things going on."

Magowan said the criteria for inclusion on the Wall can be adjusted as time passes and as other club executives see fit. But he said the ground rules he made at the outset were necessary to avoid a "popularity contest."

For example, Magowan explained that he liked the nine-year baseline because nine is "sort of a special baseball number."

Magowan also noted that players such as Rich Aurilia, Barry Bonds, Shawn Estes, Jeff Kent and Jason Schmidt will join the Wall once they retire. Bonds, baseball's all-time home run leader, has not played this year but hasn't officially announced his retirement.

Twenty-two honorees are expected to attend the dedication ceremony: Felipe Alou, Vida Blue, Bob Bolin, Orlando Cepeda, Jim Davenport, Darrell Evans, Tito Fuentes, Atlee Hammaker, Mike Krukow, Gary Lavelle, Kirt Manwaring, Willie Mays, Mike McCormick, Willie McCovey, Greg Minton, Kevin Mitchell, Robb Nen, Gaylord Perry, Kirk Rueter, J.T. Snow, Robby Thompson and Matt Williams.

Completing the inaugural contingent are: Jim Barr, Rod Beck, Jeff Brantley, Bobby Bonds, Bob Brenly, John Burkett, Jack Clark, Will Clark, Chili Davis, Dick Dietz, Scott Garrelts, Tom Haller, Jim Ray Hart, Johnnie LeMaster, Jeffrey Leonard, Juan Marichal, Stu Miller, Randy Moffitt, John Montefusco, Rick Reuschel and Chris Speier.

Chris Haft is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.