Nick Hundley named 2017 "Willie Mac" Award winner

San Francisco, Calif. - San Francisco Giants catcher Nick Hundley was selected as the winner of the 2017 "Willie Mac" Award, the club announced today.

The Willie McCovey Award is an annual honor bestowed upon the most inspirational player on the team, as voted upon by Giants players, coaches, training staff, clubhouse staff, the fans and Willie McCovey himself. This season marks the 37th anniversary of the award, which was established in 1980, in honor of legend and Hall of Famer Willie McCovey. Engraved on the plaque that Hundley will receive are the words "Competitive Spirit, Ability and Leadership" to characterize the qualities both McCovey and Hundley exemplify.

Hundley has been solid during his first year in a Giants uniform, hitting .246 with nine home runs and 34 RBI while appearing in 99 games (63 starts at catcher). He has provided much needed power for the club, with 32 of his 69 hits this season having come for extra-bases. Hundley is just the eighth player to win the "Willie Mac Award" in his first year with the Giants, joining Mark Leiter, Shawon Dunston, Benito Santiago, David Bell, Marquis Grissom, Mike Matheny and Bengie Molina.

Listed below are the "Willie Mac Award" winners:

1980           Jack Clark

1981           Larry Herndon

1982           Joe Morgan

1983           Darrell Evans

1984           Bob Brenly

1985           Mike Krukow

1986           Mike Krukow

1987           Chris Speier

1988           Jose Uribe

1989           Dave Dravecky

1990           Steve Bedrosian

1991           Robby Thompson

1992           Mike Felder

1993           Kirt Manwaring

1994           None

1995           Mark Leiter

Mark Carreon

1996           Shawon Dunston

1997           J.T. Snow

1998           Jeff Kent

1999           Marvin Benard

2000           Ellis Burks

2001           Mark Gardner

                    Benito Santiago

2002           David Bell

2003           Marquis Grissom

2004           J.T. Snow

2005           Mike Matheny

2006           Omar Vizquel

2007           Bengie Molina

2008           Bengie Molina

2009           Matt Cain

2010           Andres Torres

2011           Ryan Vogelsong

2012           Buster Posey

2013           Hunter Pence

2014           Madison Bumgarner

2015           Matt Duffy

2016           Brandon Crawford      

                    Javier Lopez

2017           Nick Hundley